Person

When I first started writing one of my stories, I was convinced it should be in first person. I was so sure that this was the right choice that I wrote nearly the whole thing before I finally admitted that it wasn’t working with that voice. Because, up until that point, I had pretty much only ever written first person narratives. But, when I did have that moment of revelation during that particular story, it let me see that, even if I thought I preferred a first person voice, sometimes third is the only way the story will work.

I guess what I’m trying to say, in my own way, which is particularly overtired right now, is that voice is one of the most important parts of any story, and you have to live with it for a long time. Don’t use the wrong one just because it’s not your preferred one. Every story is different. Every one needs its own voice.

Keep going,

A very sleepy Alex.

Leave a Reply

